Alexander Petersen wins 2015 WSOP PLO Championship – Beats Jason Mercier Heads Up

alexander-petersen-wsopAlthough Alexander Petersen has been grinding in online poker for 11 years, he’s yet to establish himself as a big name on the live tournament circuit. But you can expect this to change after his huge victory in the 2015 WSOP $10,000 Pot-Limit Omaha Championship.

Petersen battled through a 387-player field that included some of the toughest pros the game has to offer. He also fought through a difficult final table that included the likes of Dan Smith (3rd, $369.5k), Davidi Kitai (7th, $111k) and Shaun Deeb (8th, $85k). By the time he made it to the heads-up portion, Petersen was facing a 3-to-1 chip deficit to Jason Mercier.

As for Mercier, he looked well on his way to his second gold bracelet of the 2015 WSOP. However, Petersen had other plans, quickly doubling up through Mercier and making this a much closer contest. It wasn’t too much later before the Dane had his better-known opponent all-in; the cards Mercier needed never came, which left Petersen with the PLO Championship, his first bracelet and a $927,655 payout.

“In poker, you get out what you put into it,” said Petersen after the victory. “I used to play my favorite hands and all that, then I started learning that if you studied and got really good, you could make a living at this. I’ve been making my living at poker for more than ten years now.”

The only downside to this huge win for Petersen is that he won’t get to keep as much money as you’d think from the $927.6k haul. “Where I live (in Denmark), we have to pay a lot of taxes, something like 55 percent,” he explained. “So, after I pay taxes on this money, it means I really came in second.”

Nevertheless, this is a payout that the Dane would gladly take, and the PLO win figures to make him far more famous in the live tournament circle.

2015 WSOP $10k PLO Omaha Championship Final Table
1. Alexander Petersen – $927,655
2. Jason Mercier – $572,989
3. Dan Smith – $369,564
4. Simon Trumper – $267,778
5. Mohsin Virani – $196,877
6. Sven Reichardt – $146,857
7. Davidi Kitai – $111,134
8. Shaun Deeb – $85,306
9. Hasan Habib – $66,426

Tags: , , , , , ,