Poker Hall of Fame 2009 Nominees Announced

Admittance into the Poker Hall of Fame is one of the biggest honors in the world of poker. The nominees that will be considered for the 2009 induction are surely on the edge of their seats, waiting to find out if they will receive this prestigious award (I know I would be!).

In order to be nominated for the Poker Hall of Fame, a player must meet a number of criteria. The player must have:

  • Played poker for high stakes
  • Played against recognized top competitors
  • Played well consistently over the years, standing the test of time
  • Non-players must have proven to contribute to the growth and success of poker

This years nominees include Barry Greenstein, Dan Harrington, Phil Ivey, Tom McEvoy, Men Nguyen, Scotty Nguyen, Daniel Negreanu, Erik Seidel and Mike Sexton. 22-year old Tom “Durrrr” Dwan was originally one of the nominees. However, he was removed likely due to his age. The Poker Hall of Fame council said, “We wish him well and expect he will again be considered once he has ‘stood the test of time.'”

I’m looking forward to finding out who the 2009 inductees will be!

Tags: , ,