Posts Tagged ‘Player Of The Year’

Jake Cody named Poker Player of the Year

Sunday, September 4th, 2011

Jake Cody started the 2011 WSOP off with a bang after winning the $25k No-Limit Hold’em Heads-up Championship. And his reward for winning was a massiveĀ $851,192 prize and a WSOP gold bracelet. Perhaps even bigger than the bracelet though was the fact that Cody became only the fourth person ever to win poker’s triple crown, which includes winning a WSOP, EPT and WPT title.

With Cody joining the ranks of poker’s elite, it’s no surprise that he cleaned up at the 2011 British Poker Awards by taking “Player of the Year” and “Best Tournament Player” honors. As for the voting process, the 2011 British Poker Awards are a unique deal because those attending the Poker in the Park festival get to vote on winners.

Seeing as how Poker in the Park is held in London, it’s not surprising that the UK’s Cody was able to take the Player of the Year title – although this isn’t to say that he didn’t earn it. In addition to Cody winning a couple of awards, quite a few other UK pros earned some hardware, including Chris Moorman (Best Online Player), Sam Trickett (Best Cash Player) and Matt Perkins (Best Breakout Player).

The British poker fans did show some love to people outside of the UK since they voted Jason Mercier as the “Best International Player” and Kara Scott as the “Best Poker Personality.” It’s no surprise that Mercier would win an honor since most poker tournament rankings – including ESPN’s – continually put the Florida-based pro at the top of the list. As for Scott, the Canadian hostess of Poker After Dark seems to be loved by all in the poker community since she’s got looks and a great personality (as the award alludes to).

Who Will Be WSOP 2010 Player Of The Year?

Thursday, July 1st, 2010

As the World Series Of Poker tournament progresses things are heating up and the question on every player’s mind is, who is going to win the race for WSOP 2010 Player Of The Year? Each year, players are ranked based on their cumulative measure of performance and the player that comes out on top receives the Player Of The Year Title.

This year, Frank Kassela and John Juanda are currently tied for first place in the rankings, with 225 points each. Kassela has won two bracelets so far and Juanda has not won any, however his cash wins have given him a top spot on the leader board.

Juanda says that if he wins Poker Player Of The Year “it will make me feel a bit better about not winning a bracelet. But every year I go without a bracelet, it’s disappointing.” Kassela says that he has “been playing in a ton of events since [he] won the last one, just because [he] knew [he] had a decent chance at Player of the Year.” It’s a close race, and if either player wants to go home with the title they will have to up their game, compete in a lot of events and either win or place in the top with cash wins.

The current standings for Poker Player Of The Year are as follows:

John Juanda – 225 points

Frank Kassela – 225 points

Vladimir Schemelev – 210 points

Dan Heimiller – 200 points

Michael Mizrachi – 190 points

Men Nguyen – 180 points

Richard Ashby – 180 points

Jeffrey Papola – 180 points

James Dempsey – 180 points

Allen Kessler – 175 points

David Chiu – 170 points

David Baker – 170 points